If you’re in an accident with an uninsured driver, then you don’t need to worry if you have an excellent car accident lawyer helping with your case. There are certain steps you have to take after the accident takes place, and you need to ensure you have a good insurance policy. Let’s take a closer look at what’s going to happen if you’re in an accident with an uninsured driver.
Table of Contents
Ask a Car Accident Lawyer: What Happens When the Other Driver Was Uninsured?
It’s illegal to drive an uninsured vehicle in Missouri. However, some people still do this. Luckily, there’s also a law that requires uninsured motorist coverage to be added to everyone’s insurance policy. This means that your insurance company is obligated to pay out up to $25,000 for bodily injuries per person involved in the accident. There’s a cap of $50,000 paid out for bodily injuries per accident.
It may seem unfair that your insurance company has to take the fall and pay this out if it was another driver’s fault. However, your insurance company can then pursue the party that was at fault for reimbursement.
What Happens if the Uninsured Motorist Was Driving a Work Vehicle?
If the motorist involved in your accident was driving a work vehicle or was driving their own vehicle on a work errand, then it’s possible that you could make a claim against the employer or the owner of the driver’s work vehicle. Note that this is not possible in every situation, and your Kansas City car accident lawyer can advise on a case-by-case basis.
What If My Insurance Company Doesn’t Cover All My Expenses?
If your insurance company pays out, but it doesn’t cover all of your losses and expenses, then you should consult your attorney. They’ll know more about whether or not it’s worth pursuing the other motorist for additional compensation.
However, several factors complicate uninsured motorist claims. Your attorney will be able to explain them to you in detail. It’s highly circumstantial. In some uninsured motorist car accident cases, various state laws and policies come into play. For the personal injury attorney, you can go here.
What Do I Do if I’m in an Accident With an Uninsured Motorist?
1. Call 911
The first thing you should always do when you’re in a car accident is call 911. Request police officers and ask for emergency medical services if somebody was hurt. Obtain a copy of the police report so you can have it when you file your insurance claim.
2. Talk to the Other Driver
Ideally, you can talk to the other driver and obtain their information. If they’re uninsured, then they may refuse to give it to you. In this case, take a picture of their license plate. Let the police handle talking to the driver, as the driver may become aggressive.
Uninsured drivers may also attempt to flee the scene. If they do this before you get a chance to call the police, then make sure you take a picture of their license plate before making the call. Memorize as much of the plate as you can in case the photo was taken hastily and comes out blurry. Write down the license plate number in your phone’s notes app or on a piece of paper.
3. Document the Scene of the Accident
You should take pictures and videos of the accident scene if it’s safe to do so. Do this even if the driver flees. The most important things to capture are vehicle damage, skid marks left by the accident, road signs, and debris.
Don’t attempt to record the other party without their consent, as this is against Missouri recording laws. You can, however, take a video of their vehicle.
4. Talk to Witnesses
If there were witnesses to the accident, then you should take their contact information. The police will want to speak to as many of them as possible. Some may wish to leave the scene before the police arrive, so having their contact information will help the police, and later your attorney, in their investigations.
5. Seek Medical Treatment
Even if you feel fine after an accident, you should go get an examination anyway. You may be suffering from whiplash or internal injuries. Perhaps your seatbelt pressed into one of your organs and damaged it.
You must document all injuries if you wish to be compensated for them. Delaying medical care can hurt your claim. Your insurance company may attempt to argue that if you are truly injured as a result of your car accident, then you would’ve sought medical treatment straight away.
6. Contact a Car Accident Attorney
Now is the time to contact a car accident attorney. They can offer advice on how best to approach your insurance company considering the driver was uninsured. They can also help you understand your legal rights. Finally, they’ll assist in negotiating with your insurance company to get you the settlement you’re entitled to. You can check out this website for legal help.
Once you have a lawyer helping you after a car accident, then you’re safe. They’ll provide a free consultation and evaluate your case before taking it on. Then, they’ll do everything in their power to make sure you’re fairly compensated for the accident.