If you are thinking of moving to Michigan, or just want to know the marijuana possession laws before your next visit, it is important that you have a good understanding of the state’s regulations.
This blog post will provide information about how much marijuana one can legally possess in Michigan.
Marijuana is an illegal substance on the federal level and cannot smoke or consume in any public place such as bars, restaurants, cars, and etc. As a result, if you get caught with any marijuana, the punishment may be 1 year in jail or a $1,000 fine.
You are allowed to grow up to 12 plants for personal use. The plants must be kept out of public view, not exceed 25 square feet, and the harvested marijuana cannot exceed more than two ounces.
The possession limit for marijuana in Michigan is 2.5 ounces of usable marijuana. This includes flowers, edibles, concentrates, and tinctures. If you are caught with more than this amount, you may be charged with a misdemeanor which could result in jail time and/or a fine.
The rules around marijuana use can seem confusing at times but consulting with an experienced attorney may help you understand your rights.
You are not allowed to export or transport marijuana outside of the state. If you are caught with marijuana while crossing state lines, you will be charged with a federal crime punishable by up to 5 years in prison.
It is also illegal to drive under the influence of marijuana. If you are caught, you will have to do 360 hours of community service, jail time for 93 days, or pay a $300 fine.
If you are caught with under 50 kilograms, or just over 100 pounds, then the state will charge you with possession and not intent to distribute. If however, they find more than 100 pounds on a person, it is considered intent for distribution which could lead to felony charges punishable by 15 years in jail if convicted.
It is important to note that these are the legal limits in Michigan. However, due to the fact that marijuana is still illegal on the federal level, there is always the potential for punishment if caught crossing state lines or transporting cannabis products across state lines. So please do your research before traveling with any marijuana products!
Recreational Cannabis Limit
Adults who are 21 years of age or older are legally allowed to have cannabis in their possession in Michigan within the following guidelines and limits.
- A person may possess recreational cannabis with no more than 2.5 ounces (70 grams) of usable marijuana outside of their home.
- No more than 12 pot plants.
- No more than 15 grams (0.53 ounces) of cannabis concentrates.
- You can have up to 10 ounces of cannabis at home. This also applies to any cannabis grown and produced at home.
Medical Cannabis Limit
One rule about medical marijuana is that you can have up to 2.5 ounces of it if you have a condition that the state approves. The following are regulations and limits for medical marijuana in Michigan:
- You can have up to 16 ounces of cannabis-infused products in solid form.
- 7 grams of marijuana in gas form.
- 36 fluid ounces of marijuana-infused products.
Patients who are allowed to use medical cannabis can have up to 12 plants. If they have a caregiver, the caregiver can also have 12 plants and 2.5 ounces of cannabis. The caregiver must reside in the state of Michigan and have no more than 5 patients.
Patients may also purchase cannabis plants and seeds legally from dispensaries or cultivators with a medical license.
So there you have it! These are the basics that you need to know about how much marijuana you can legally possess in Michigan.
As you can see, there are quite a few regulations when it comes to possessing and using marijuana in Michigan. Make sure that you are aware of these laws before engaging in any activities related to cannabis.
If you have any questions about Michigan’s marijuana limit or how it applies to you, please contact an attorney. For more information on cannabis and its many uses, visit our website at nstarfinance.com.