How Is Gluten-Free Lager Challenging The View Of Beers In 2021?
If you don’t drink, there are often constant remarks of being a killjoy, being judgemental, or that you’ve been an alcoholic. While for some, the product refuses to toe the line of the established extensive beer market, it relishes the role of a “rebel” in the alcohol industry.
Gluten-free lager has tipped a burgeoning movement of switching to zero or no alcohol substitutes, especially among millennials embracing a “sober curious” lifestyle. While the world has brought the importance of a healthy lifestyle, consumers look for a healthy alternative that won’t make them sacrifice their leisure.
How are beer gluten-free Drinks different from alcoholic beverages?
The non-alcoholic beer uses sorghum, but many brewers have moved from this ingredient for its sour flavour. Different gluten-free brewers make flavourful ales, IPA gluten-free using creative ingredients like rice, buckwheat, rice and corn. In standard, you brew gluten-free beer using ingredients of rice or millet, used to make traditional beer. In contrast, gluten-removed beers contain enzymes that digest gluten particles in small proportions, which may pose a risk of causing an immune reaction to people allergic to gluten.
From Gen-Z to generation Alpha, consumers of all ages are transcending some of their drinking habits. According to the Guardian, sales of non-alcoholic drinks soared by 30% as UK drinking habits changed.
How is a gluten-free lager drink made?
Brewing alcohol and beer with zero alcohol is fairly the same. Both types of beer go through similar procedures like boiling wort, distillation. Both the beers are fermented. The pivotal difference for non-alcoholic beers is that it has to be heated.
Gluten-free alcohols are fundamentally different. The entire ethos is to prevent fermentation and cease yeast expansion. In many breweries, the brewer will inject carbon dioxide into the bottle or the key. While recipes for gluten-free beer may vary, here is a basic rundown of steps for making simple lager at home:
- Boil water and add sorghum syrup.
- Add hops and then boil the solution for almost one hour.
- Turn off heat and stir in honey until it cools down to normal room temperature.
- Shift the solution to a clean fermenter. Add water to the desired amount to liquid around 5 gallons.
- Filter out yeast from the solution.
- Ferment the beer and store it in clean bottles with corn sugar. To keep their lager beer more authentic, many breweries use starter yeast and sugar in the bottles to ferment easily. However, this method might increase alcohol levels.
Why should you choose Non-alcoholic drinks?
There are a handful of advantages of non-alcoholic beer. These drinks can help you with an improved mood, a fatter wallet, and a healthier diet. So it is no surprise that consumers who cut alcohol or change to a non-alcoholic substitute experience improved sleep patterns and other health benefits.
As with regular alcoholic beverages, gluten-free lager seems quite ironic to contain alcohol, albeit much less. Since the taste and smell of non-alcoholic beer is almost identical to regular beer, that may trigger cravings in people trying to reduce their alcohol intake.